76th Annual Meeting | April 28 - 30, 2023


On behalf of the program committee, Dr. Patel and I want to welcome everybody to the 76th Annual Meeting of the Virginia Orthopaedic Society at the beautiful, historic Omni Homestead Resort in Hot Springs, Virginia.  The Homestead is a National Historic Landmark that has been welcoming guests since 1766.  With a guest list that includes John D. Rockefeller, Henry Ford, J.P. Morgan, and 21 of our country’s 45 Presidents, The Homestead has long been a favorite destination of various world figures and will surely make a great backdrop for our annual meeting.

Attendees will have the pleasure of hearing from our two keynote speakers: the current President of AAHKS Dr. Bryan Springer and the current President of AAOS, Dr. Felix H. “Buddy” Savoie. Dr. Savoie is an internationally recognized expert in the areas of shoulder and elbow surgery and practices at Tulane University School of Medicine, where he also serves as the Chief of the Division of Sports Medicine, Director of the Tulane Institute of Sports Medicine, and the Chairman of the Department of Orthopaedics.  He will speak about the current and future directions of the AAOS as well as the changing landscape in Orthopaedics.  Dr. Springer is an academic Orthopaedic Joint Replacement surgeon at OrthoCarolina where he serves as the current Fellowship Director for the OrthoCarolina Hip & Knee Center. Dr. Springer will lecture on select topics in joint replacement surgery, sharing his wealth of knowledge gained over his most impressive career.


The focus of the meeting will include various areas of interest applicable to Orthopaedic Surgeons across the Commonwealth of Virginia. A concerted effort was made to create a comprehensive program that covers different topics spanning all subspecialties. 

We thank all the participants and sponsors in advance for their effort and support of this year's meeting.  It is always our goal to bring state of the art education to the Virginia Orthopaedics community.  Looking forward to a great meeting. 



Michael O’Malley, MD
Program Co-Chair

Nirav Patel, MD
Program Co-Chair