Summer 2014


68th Annual Mtg

VOS 68th Annual Meeting
April 24-26, 2015
The Homestead
Hot Springs, VA



Click Here


Click Here


Click Here


NPs & PMAs Find A Doc

VOS 2013 Annual MeetingVOS 67th
Annual Meeting

May 2-4, 2014
Hotel Roanoke
Roanoke, VA

Trevor M. Owen, MD
Michael W. Wolfe, MD
Conference Co-Chairs

The 67th Annual Meeting of the VOS was again a great success. Over 110 participants were greeted with fantastic weather for the weekend in Roanoke. There was a strong showing of attendees all the way through the meeting including Sunday afternoon. The weekend began with a cocktail reception with our industry exhibitors, without whom

Attendees gather around the Stryker exhibit table to explore the robotic arm.
Maxine Lee, MD, MBA, President-Elect of VSA provided the anesthesia update. She is pictured with John Mann III, MD, President of VOS.

the meeting would not have been possible. 
Saturday morning began the scientific portion of the meeting, with six of the eleven abstracts presented at the podium. This was followed by updates from anesthesia and cardiology regarding new developments and drugs from their specialties, as well as an update on ultrasound use in orthopaedics. Running concurrently with the scientific portion of the meeting, the PA Breakout Sessions provided our advanced care practitioners education over a broad spectrum of topics. Our Keynote Speaker, Giles Scuderi, MD, and Guest Speaker, Joseph Hsu, MD, both provided fantastic lectures providing insight into the future of total joint replacement and limb reconstruction. Additionally, an amusing “debate” was had regarding the anterior versus posterior approaches to hip replacement.

Giles R. Scuderi, MD, Keynote Speaker, gives a total knee update.

During the lunch business meeting, we heard updates from each of the medical schools and from the VOS board regarding its current lobbying activities and concerns for the upcoming year. The business meeting concluded with current VOS President John Mann, MD, handing over the gavel to incoming President Mark Romness, MD.

After some free time to explore the surrounding area, The Hotel Roanoke prepared a fantastic dinner during which we were honored to have AAOS President Frederic Azar, MD provide us with an update from the academy. Also over dinner, Joseph Moskal, MD was awarded the 2014 VOS Career Award and Kathy Byron was awarded the 2014 VOS Legislator of the Year Award.

From left: Michael W. Wolfe, MD and
Trevor M. Owen, MD, 67th Annual Meeting Conference Co-Chairs
From left: John Mann III, MD presents the Presidential Gavel to incoming President Mark J. Romness, MD
Mark J. Romness, MD thanks
John W. Mann III, MD for a year of
service as President of VOS
From left: Joseph T. Moskal, MD
receives the VOS Career Award from
John W. Mann III, MD
From left: Joseph T. Moskal, MD, Career Award winner; Frederick M. Azar, MD, President of AAOS; "Cap" H. C. Eschenroeder, Jr., MD, Past VOS President From left: Wilford K. Gibson, MD, AAOS BOC Past Chair and past VOS President, recieves the President's Award from
John W. Mann III, MD

The scientific meeting resumed early Sunday morning with the remaining six podium presentations. An update on ICD-10 was presented, which generated a great deal of discussion. VOS’ own Wilford Gibson, MD then gave us all an update from the AAOS Board of Councilors. The meeting finished with a session on sports medicine, providing updates on femoroacetabular impingement, rotator cuff arthropathy, concussions, and surgical treatment for diabetic neuropathy.

At the conclusion of the meeting, Brian Werner, MD from UVA was awarded the best poster award for his poster, Peroneal Nerve Injury in Multiligament Knee Injury: Comparative Outcomes After Posterior Tibial Tendon Transfer. Ravinder Brar, MD from VCU received the award for best abstract for her presentation, Flexor Digitorum Profundus Reconstruction: A Cadaveric Comparison of Three Techniques.   

Trevor M. Owen, MD (center) moderates the Sunday morning abstract presentation.

Overall, the meeting was a fantastic success. We would like to thank all who attended for making the journey down to Roanoke. Finally, we express again our gratitude to our vendors and corporate sponsors who are crucial to the financial success of the meeting.

We look forward to seeing
everyone next year!

68th Annual

The Homestead
Hot Springs, VA
April 24-26, 2015